Community technical support mailing list was retired 2010 and replaced with a professional technical support team. For assistance please contact: Pre-sales Technical support via email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
It's a dangerous thing, but you can delete the ,v files to completely remove the file from a repository. Likewise, you can delete a module out of the file system, and it will be removed. To be on the safe side, shut down the CVS server first, and warn all the users of your actions. It is dangerous because there is no way to recover the file or module. Also, all associated history will disappear (you cannot - of course - retrieve an older version as you have deleted it!). Do not do this lightly. Also note that when you perform a "CVS remove" you mark the file as being removed, and updates will remove the file from a sandbox. Deleting the file from the server does no such thing. __________ do fork agent( smith ); repeat; > -----Original Message----- > From: William Blencowe > [mailto:bill.blencowe at datacommmanagementsciences.com] > Sent: Wednesday, September 03, 2003 7:36 AM > To: cvsnt at cvsnt.org cvsnt downloads at march-hare.com @CVSNT on Twitter CVSNT on Facebook > Subject: [cvsnt] Completely Deleting modules from respository > > > Hello, > > A few of my developers accidently added modules in the > wrong place in the > repository. What is the proper method to completely destroy > these folders? > I know that I can delete them, but CVS will still remember > the modules just > in case. > > I considered just deleting the folders in the respository > using the file > system, but thought I'd ask the question first? > > -bill > > _______________________________________________ > cvsnt mailing list > cvsnt at cvsnt.org cvsnt downloads at march-hare.com @CVSNT on Twitter CVSNT on Facebook > http://www.cvsnt.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/cvsnt https://www.march-hare.com/cvspro/en.asp#downcvs >