[cvsnt] Re: cvs update overwrites changes
bo.berglund at telia.com
Fri Feb 18 06:18:18 GMT 2005
On Thu, 17 Feb 2005 17:52:12 -0800, David Vo <vo.david at gmail.com>
>1. FileA is edited by, say, 3 people.
>2. A is comitted by person1 and person2 updates it using cvs update
>FileA which overwrites the changes made by person2 with the changes
>made by person1. And so on.
>3. Currently, the temporary solution is to exclusively lock the file
>to prevent code loss.
If the file is binary this is exactly what is supposed to happen.
However the modified file that was overwritten is actually saved first
under a new name (same as the original plus revision info).
This is also displayed to the user while the update runs, just read
the messages and you will see what happens.
It is not possible to merge the contents of binary files so this is
the only way to handle this situation.
(Bo Berglund, developer in Sweden)
More information about the cvsnt