Community technical support mailing list was retired 2010 and replaced with a professional technical support team. For assistance please contact: Pre-sales Technical support via email to email@example.com.
Tony Hoyle wrote: > Gerhard Fiedler wrote: >> I have a file that has been removed on a branch, but when I merge that >> branch into HEAD, the file on HEAD doesn't get removed. Instead, I get >> a message that says "cvs server: file Base.hpp has been modified, but >> has been removed in revision bGeDev". (See the update command below.) >> >> The file is not modified on HEAD (see stat below). The only >> modifications are a few revisions on the branch after the last merge >> before the file got removed on the branch. But the last revision on the >> branch is dead (see log below). Yet, after the merge, the file in HEAD >> is untouched. >> >> Can anybody explain why it doesn't merge the remove from the branch to >> HEAD? >> > The branch was branched from 1.4, and there's a 1.5 on HEAD, which means > that to delete on the merge is a conflict - changes will be lost. cvsnt > won't do anything that could potentially lose edits, so it warns you so > you can do any changes needed manually. To me, this is counter-intuitive. Here's the story of the file: - Branched 1.4 (bGeDev). - Created revisions 220.127.116.11 to 18.104.22.168 on bGeDev. - Merged 22.214.171.124 into 1.4 and committed 1.5, creating a merge point (from 126.96.36.199 to 1.5). - Created revisions 188.8.131.52 and 184.108.40.206 on bGeDev. - Removed the file on the branch, creating 220.127.116.11 (dead rev). - Tried to merge the dead revision to HEAD. There has been no change on HEAD after the last merge point. In fact, there hasn't been a single edit on HEAD since the branch was created. IMO the correct merge behavior would be to remove 1.5 but keep a backup copy, just like if I had merged in 18.104.22.168. (BTW, I sent this message as a post to the newsgroup a little while ago, but it seems nobody saw that post. I had this happen before, that a fresh post to the newsgroup seemingly doesn't get seen by people. Normally, I'm using the newsgroup, but it seems for initial posts, I need to send an email to the mailing list. Is there something wrong with the newsgroup/mailing list gateway?) Thanks, Gerhard